CITY OF MILBANK

PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

February 5, 2024

The Milbank Planning and Zoning Commission met for a regular meeting on Monday, February 5, 2024, at 6:00 P.M. in the Milbank City Council Chambers. Present for the meeting were Commission members: Sharon Pinkert, Bob Frink, Hans Sacrison, Jason Sackreiter, Dick Schmeichel, Jacob Ebsen, Connie Larson. Present from staff, Brandy Blauert, Darin Thiele. Present from the public Norm Giesen, Dewey Athey, Maxine Athey.

A motion was made by Ebsen and seconded by Larson to approve the minutes of the December 4, 2023 and December 11, 2023, meeting. Motion carried 7-0.

No declaration of intent by members of the public was declared.

No conflict of interests was disclosed.

Approval of the Agenda motion was made by Sacrison seconded by Frink. Motion carried 7-0.

Acting as the Board of Adjustment the variance application requested by Duane Athey that, if granted, would permit an attached enclosed loading dock to the North side of the building, this addition would be within the required front yard setback, Chapter 17.14 was discussed. The property is identified as 212 W Milbank Ave, Lot 2 & 3 Athey Addition, City of Milbank, South Dakota, Zoned I1, Light Industrial District. A motion was made by Sacrison and seconded by Schmeichel to approve the loading dock. Motion carried 7-0.

Public Hearing for Ordinance 852 – upon request from the Grant County Development Corp the public hearing was postponed until the March 4, 2024 meeting.

Public Hearing for Ordinance 851 – 17.17.03.3 – Basis for Establishing the areas of Special Flood Hazard. A motion was made by Schmeichel and seconded by Larson to recommend approval to the City Council. Motion carried 7-0.

No items were discussed in the Open section of the agenda.

The Election of Officers

Nominations for Chairman were called for by Sackreiter, Bob Frink was nominated and declined nomination. Jason Sackreiter was nominated and then Sacrison moved nominations cease. With a unanimous decision Sackreiter was elected chairman.

Nominations for Vice-Chairman were called for by Sackreiter, Jacob Ebsen was nominated and then Sacrison moved nominations cease. With a unanimous decision Ebsen was elected Vice-Chairman.

The next regular meeting will be held on March 4, 2024 @ 6:00 p.m.

A motion was made by Ebsen and seconded by Frink to adjourn the meeting.

Brandy Blauert, Administrative Assistant

Planning & Zoning President, Jason Sackreiter

City Administrator, Steve Pendergrass